The Roanoke Valley Preservation Foundation is a non-profit, 501(c)3 organization created for the purpose of promoting the preservation of the historic, natural, and cultural resources of the Roanoke Valley.

History of the RVPF



Alison Blanton, President - president@roanokepreservation.org
Trustee since 1998.
Alison is a professional Architectural Historian with a BA from the University of Texas and an MA from the University of Virginia with a certificate in Historic Preservation. Alison has also served on the City of Roanoke Architectural Review Board since 1998.

Anne Stuart Beckett, Vice-President

Trustee since 2016.

Anne Stuart Beckett has practiced architectural history for 25 years, and her work includes research, documentation, and evaluation of historic resources throughout the Commonwealth. After graduating from Mary Washington College in 1990 with a degree in Historic Preservation, she started as a draftsman with the William & Mary Center for Archaeological Research before becoming their Senior Architectural Historian. Ms. Beckett later worked for the Virginia Department of Historic Resources as the architectural historian for the former Roanoke Regional Preservation Office. Since 2001, she has worked as an independent contractor in Roanoke, Virginia, and also served as the Preservation Planner and Agent to the Architectural Review Board for the City of Roanoke. She is currently serving as the Interim Director of the Salem Museum in Salem, VA.

David Parr, Treasurer

Trustee since 2014.
An avid believer in historical preservation and adaptive re-use, David recognizes the necessity of retaining historical landmarks and signs of the past. His family roots run deep in this part of Virginia, and he has a B.A. in History from the University of Richmond and a J.D. from the University of Virginia. Raised in Roanoke, he spends free time at his house on Craig Creek and hopes to be useful in the endeavors of RVPF.

Katie Gutshall, Secretary
Trustee since 2012.
Katie is a Preservation Planner with Hill Studio in Roanoke. She regularly works on National Register nominations, historic district surveys, and historic tax credit projects. Katie holds a BA in Urban & Environmental Planning from the University of Virginia and a MA in Historic Preservation Planning from Cornell University. Prior to moving to Roanoke, she worked as a planning consultant in Albany, New York. Katie currently serves on the City of Roanoke Architectural Review Board.
Jeanne Bollendorf, Coordinator info@roanokepreservation.org
Trustee since 2008.
Jeanne has always had a passion for archaeology and historic preservation. From the age of 10, she knew she would become an archaeologist which she accomplished early in her career for a number of cultural resource management firms. She then transitioned into museum administration, working for several cultural non-profits and serving on numerous Boards. Jeanne served on the board of trustees from 2009-2017. She is currently the Director of Development for Roanoke Children's Theatre.

Board of Trustees 

Ariel Clark

Trustee since 2017.

Robert Clement
Trustee since 2017.

Judith Harrison
Trustee since 2010.
Judy is a life resident of the Roanoke Valley. After 33 years of service with Carilion Clinic she retired in 2010. She now works part time at Jefferson Center and spends her spare time visiting with friends, reading and volunteering with several organizations. She spends a considerable number of weekends and vacations traveling to visit historic towns, buildings and homes. Judy is an ardent advocate for saving historic buildings and their stories.

Linda Harrison
Trustee since 2002.
Linda is a semiretired special education teacher within the Roanoke County School system. She now divides her time between teaching, volunteering, and traveling. Always interested in historic preservation, Linda joined the RVPF after participating in one of their Heritage Education Workshops provided for teacher recertification.

Deedie Dent Kagey, Ed.D.
Trustee since 1989.
Deedie is a founding member of the RVPF. After taking a hiatus from the Board of Trustees in 1999, Deedie returned to the Board in 2010. She is a retired administrator for Roanoke County Schools with 41 years of service. She is also the author of two local history books, a lecturer, and University of Virginia adjunct professor. She is currently working on an update of the history of the Bonsack area in Roanoke County, recording interviews with longtime residents.

George Kegley
Trustee since 1988.
After retiring from the Roanoke Times as business editor/reporter with 44 years of service, George has become one of the community’s most active volunteers. In addition to his work with the RVPF, George sits on the boards of the Historical Society of Western Virginia, the Blue Ridge Land Conservancy, Blue Ridge Literacy and the Rescue Mission, serves as editor for the Journal of the Historical Society and the Virginia Lutheran and coordinates the summer campership program of Roanoke Valley Lutheran Cooperative Ministries. He previously served as secretary of the former Preservation Alliance of Virginia and as a member of the State Library Board. George and his family reside at Monterey, a Greek Revival home constructed in 1845, which is protected by an historic easement held by the Virginia Department of Historic Resources. It is the only privately-owned property in the City of Roanoke protected by a conservation easement held by the Virginia Outdoors Foundation (115 acres). George is a native of Wythe County and a graduate of Roanoke College.

Molly Meredith
Trustee since 2017.

Michael Pulice
Trustee since 2017.

Evelyn (Evie) Slone
Trustee since 1988.
Evie is a founding member of the RVPF and has served various terms on the Board of Trustees. She is a professional land and development planner and has worked in both local government (City of Roanoke) and as a private consultant (Hill Studio). Over the past twenty years, Evie has helped establish and administer local historic districts, advocated for significant historic properties and neighborhoods, and facilitated development alternatives to preserve historic properties. Evie has particular interest in family history and traditions as well as promoting the community’s important people and places. ‘It gives us “roots” and appreciation for who

Isabel Thornton
Trustee since 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *